1. About Our School
  2. Sherborne Area Schools' Trust

Sherborne Area Schools' Trust

After years of working together, research, meetings and consultation with stakeholders, St Mary's made the decision to convert to Academy Status with six other Sherborne Schools forming the area's first Multi Academy Trust. As successful schools with strong historical links, we were determined to shape our own destiny in the ever changing educational landscape.

The original member schools are:
St Mary's CE Primary, Bradford Abbas; Sherborne Abbey CE Primary; Thornford CE Primary, Buckland Newton CE Primary. Sherborne Primary; St Andrew's in Yetminster and the Gryphon School.

Mr Steve Hillier was appointed as Executive Headteacher overseeing the effectivesness of all the schools whilst the individual school Headteachers carry on leading and managing their schools as before. 

We are excited by the opportunities that this new journey will bring, for the children, parents and staff. In time, our MAT aims to be a national beacon of excellence.